Thursday, March 7, 2019

AFT Awards: Best Limited Performance

This is the twenty-first category of the 12th Annual AFT Film Awards to be announced. The AFT Awards are my own personal choices for the best in film of each year and the best in television of each season. The AFT Film Awards include the traditional Oscar categories and a number of additional specific honors. Nominees are pictured in the order I’ve ranked them. Click here to see previous years of this category, which is sometimes split into male and female and sometimes been combined.

Honorable mentions:
Bill Heck (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs), Billy Eichner (Most Likely to Murder), Glenn Fleshler (The Seagull), Grainger Hines (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs), Jack Dylan Grazer (Beautiful Boy), Kaitlin Olson (Arizona), Sterling K. Brown (Black Panther), Zoe Kazan (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs)

The winner:
Stephen Root (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs) made an incredible impression in mere moments as a bank teller not willing to go down without a fight.

Other nominees:
Jason Isaacs (The Death of Stalin) arrived with bravado and a hilarious arrogance to stand out among an enormously talented cast. Tatiany Maslany (Destroyer) gave her all to a minor character whose arc might have been throwaway if not for the intensity of her turn. Tim Blake Nelson (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs) imbued the title cowboy with an unflappable absurdity that truly made the part – and the vignette – work. Elizabeth Gillies (Arizona) was memorable in a tangential roles that, given her talents, could have been far more prominent in this over-the-top film.

No comments: