Wednesday, February 25, 2015

AFT Awards: Best Art Direction

This is the eighth category of the 8th Annual AFT Film Awards to be announced. The AFT Awards are my own personal choices for the best in film of each year and the best in television of each season. The AFT Film Awards include the traditional Oscar categories and a number of additional specific honors. Nominees are pictured in the order I’ve ranked them and drawn from a pool of approximately 156 films. Click here to see previous years of this category.

Into the Woods, Selma, Snowpiercer, The Theory of Everything, Unbroken

The winner:
Interstellar (Nathan Crowley, Kendelle Elliott , Gary Fettis, Eggert Ketilsson , David F. Klassen , Gary Kosko, Josh Lusby, Eric Sundahl, Dean Wolcott) crafted a stunning, marvelous universe fitting of its name, simultaneously infinite and contained at the same time.

Other nominees:
A Most Violent Year (Melanie J. Baker, John P. Goldsmith, and Doug Huszti)
The Grand Budapest Hotel (Stephan Gessler, Anna Pinnock, Adam Stockhausen, Gerald Sullivan, Steve Summersgill)
Birdman (George DeTitta Jr., Stephen H. Carter, Kevin Thompson)
Young Ones (Brian Glaser, Sharon Lomofsky, and Emilia Roux)

No comments: