Friday, March 9, 2018

AFT Awards: Best Art Direction

This is the eighth category of the 11th Annual AFT Film Awards to be announced. The AFT Awards are my own personal choices for the best in film of each year and the best in television of each season. The AFT Film Awards include the traditional Oscar categories and a number of additional specific honors. Nominees are pictured in the order I’ve ranked them. Click here to see previous years of this category.

Beauty and the Beast, Call Me By Your Name, Darkest Hour, Dunkirk, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, In Between, Land of Mine, Logan, Mudbound, Phantom Thread, Song to Song, Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Sweet Virginia, The Greatest Showman, The Space Between Us, The Zookeeper's Wife, Their Finest, Wonder Wheel, Wonderstruck

The winner:
The Shape of Water (Paul D. Austerberry, Shane Vieau and Jeffrey A. Melvin) invented its own magical universe that came to life most visually in each scene with deliberate colors and mesmerizing backdrops.

Other nominees:
Blade Runner 2049 (Dennis Gassner and Alessandra Querzola)
The Florida Project (Stephonik Youth and Kurt Thoresen)
Battle of the Sexes (Judy Becker, Matthew Flood Ferguson and Alexander Wei)
Downsizing (Stefania Cella, Patricia Larman, Jørgen Stangebye Larsen, Karen Manthey, Karl J. Martin, Doug J. Meerdink, Odetta Stoddard and Kimberley Zaharko)

No comments: