Wednesday, March 7, 2018

AFT Awards: Best Original Screenplay

This is the fifth category of the 11th Annual AFT Film Awards to be announced. The AFT Awards are my own personal choices for the best in film of each year and the best in television of each season. The AFT Film Awards include the traditional Oscar categories and a number of additional specific honors. Nominees are pictured in the order I’ve ranked them. Click here to see previous years of this category.

Honorable mentions (in alphabetical order):
Aardvark, Abe and Phil's Last Poker Game, Battle of the Sexes, Below Her Mouth, Blame, Brigsby Bear, Darkest Hour, Deidra and Laney Rob a Train, Downsizing, Free and Easy, Holy Air, It Happened in L.A., Land of Mine, Landline, Menashe, Novitiate, One Percent More Humid, Permission, Princess Cyd, Rememory, Some Freaks, Sweet Virginia, The Boy Downstairs, The Hero, The Last Movie Star, The Last Word, The Space Between Us, The Vanishing of Sidney Hall, The Women's Balcony, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Tomorrow Ever After

Band Aid
The Florida Project
In Between
Ingrid Goes West

The winner:
The Big Sick (Kumail Nanjiani and Emily V. Gordon) was a magnificent comedy that turned into a drama but remained true to its comedic roots, sweetly telling a mostly true story in the most enjoyable of ways.

Other nominees:
Thoroughbreds (Cory Finley)
Lady Bird (Greta Gerwig)
The Wedding Plan (Rama Burshtein)
The Shape of Water (Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor)

No comments: