Thursday, February 2, 2012

AFT Awards: Best Original Screenplay

This is the fifth category of the 5th Annual AFT Film Awards to be announced. The AFT Awards are my own personal choices for the best in film of each year and the best in television of each season. The AFT Film Awards include the traditional Oscar categories and a number of additional specific honors. Nominees are pictured in the order I’ve ranked them and drawn from a pool of approximately 138 Films. Click here to see previous years of this category.

Honorable mentions (in alphabetical order):
Bridesmaids, Cedar Rapids, Crazy Stupid Love, Horrible Bosses, Romantics Anonymous, Shame, Take Shelter, Terri, The Whistleblower, Tucker and Dale vs. Evil, Warrior, When We Leave, Win Win

The Guard
Griff the Invisible
Peep World
Happy, Happy
Young Adult

The winner:
Beginners (Mike Mills) was a lovely, charming, and impossibly alluring love story with a superb perspective on the world.

Other nominees:
The Artist (Michel Hazanavicius)
A Separation (Asghar Farhadi)
In a Better World (Susanne Bier & Anders Thomas Jensen)
Certified Copy (Abbas Kiarostami)

No comments: