Wednesday, January 22, 2020

AFT Awards: Best Breakthrough Performance

This is the twentieth category of the 13th Annual AFT Film Awards to be announced. The AFT Awards are my own personal choices for the best in film of each year and the best in television of each season. The AFT Film Awards include the traditional Oscar categories and a number of additional specific honors. Nominees are pictured in the order I’ve ranked them. Click here to see previous years of this category.

Honorable mentions: Stav Strashko (Flawless), Nicholas Alexander (Adam), Emily Granin (Redemption), Isabelle Barbier (CRSHD), Mckenna Grace (Troop Zero)

The winner:
Roman Griffin Davis (Jojo Rabbit) brought such energy and delightful zeal to his role as an eager young Nazi that his transformation into something better was a wonder to watch.

Other nominees:
Lucas Jaye (Driveways)
Luke Doyle (The Song of Names)
Honor Swinton Byrne (The Souvenir)
Avigail Kovari (Red Cow)

No comments: